Be Careful About Git Merge!

In my project I checked out to another branch and then everything is fine, so I want to merge it and *overwrite the master branch. And I found the same problem in bitbucket, and I just copied

git merge master --strategy=ours

But, this is to overwrite my current branch rather than the master branch!!! So later I lost everything in this branch and spend another hour try to recall what I did in the branch. And as I love to push as frequently as possible (I'm the only one in this git repo.), I overwritted the new branch and then as I pushed everything is lost everywhere. What I can do is just to recall and debug as I did in the last two hours.

Terrible experience...Be extremely careful when overwriting anything... Perhaps I should put this repo. in Dropbox so at least I can go back to some previous version.

Comments !

links

social